16
Sep
09

St. Louis Art Fair

 

Packed and ready to head to St. Louis on Thursday morning.

Packed and ready to head to St. Louis on Thursday morning.

    This was my first time doing the St. Louis Art Fair. Chris, her mother Pat, and I headed out early on Thursday morning. I had recently purchased a used cap for the Sport Trac, but still did not have enough room for everything. Two days prior to our departure I purchased a cargo carrier at the local Tractor Supply store. It fit right into the trailer hitch and easily held a few more bins.

 

Entering St. Louis.

Entering St. Louis.

    Ten hours of driving time got us to St. Louis and we had great weather all the way. Those sunny, 80+ degree days would last all the way through the weekend and even on the way home to West Virginia. We arrived at our hotel at about 8:15 PM and in plenty of time for the kickoff of the Steelers-Titans game. (Go Steelers!)

 

The famous Brown Shoe Company.

The famous Brown Shoe Company.

    On Friday morning I walked to Clayton City Center to register for the art fair. Along the way I passed the Brown Shoe Conpany, home of Buster Brown Shoes. In front of the company entrance is a wonderful sculpture of a high heeled shoe by sculptor Victoria Fuller. 

 

Victoria Fuller's "Shoe of Shoes".

Victoria Fuller's "Shoe of Shoes".

 

A detail shot of the sculpture.

A detail shot of the sculpture.

        Our hotel was only a block and a half from our assigned booth space which was quite nice. We were able to park our truck close to our booth for easy unloading. Set up went well, but it was warm and I was a sweat ball by the time the show opened at 5 PM. I was thankful that the rain predicted earlier in the week was no where to be seen!

 

A portion of my booth at the St. Louis Art Fair.

A portion of my booth at the St. Louis Art Fair.

    My next door neighbor at the art festival was Minnesota potter Robert Briscoe. Chris and I purchased a few of Bob’s bowls to take back by home with us. These squarish bowls have a chunkiness that I really like and I am looking forward to eating out of them.  Chris and I loved the big platters Bob had for sale, but they were a little out of our spending range for this trip. Bob is part of a group of potters who put on an annual studio tour and sale in the Upper St. Croix River Valley and we discussed the event at length.

 

Robert Briscoe and his ceramic work.

Robert Briscoe and his ceramic work.

    Another artist in our row was Michael Bauermeister, whose wood vessels were breathtaking. You could not help but stop at his booth and stare in amazement at his sculptures.

 

Michael Bauermeister and his sculptures before the opening of the festival.

Michael Bauermeister and his sculptures before the opening of the festival.

    Now as if the art festival itself was not enough action, there was a bonus. I was meeting my half-sister Diane for the first time. It was a couple of years ago that she contacted me and told me she was living in the St. Louis area. When I found out I had been accepted into the festival we agreed to meet. Diane and her daughter, Jasmine, came to the festival all three days. We tried to catch up on each others lives the best we could in between my talking with potential art buyers.

 

Jasmisne, me (holding a photo of myself at age five), and Diane.

Jasmisne, me (holding a photo of myself at age five), and Diane.

    The reunion weekend did not stop here. Chris’ aunt Cetty, cousin Jane, and Jane’s husband, Tom, came to the festival on Friday night. They live in nearby St. Charles, MO. 

 

Jane, Pat (Chris' mom), me, Aunt Cetty, Chris, and Tom.

Jane, Pat (Chris' mom), me, Aunt Cetty, Chris, and Tom.

    On Saturday evening I was approached by part of the festival committee and congratulated on being selected for an award. Within minutes, an “Award Winner” banner was installed on my booth. The award, First Place in 3D, was presented along with a check for $1000. at an artist’s breakfast on Sunday morning. The award also means I am entitled to return to the St. Louis Art Fair in 2010 without having to go through the jurying process. Considering all the talent at this event, I was quite surprised to be selected for one of the awards.

 

My award banner gets installed.

My award banner gets installed.

 

Painter Michel

Painter Michel Delgado from Key West, FL.

 

Chris with our "State College friend",  Florida photographer Gary Siedel.

Chris with our "State College friend", Florida photographer Gary Seidel.

 

Painter Tim Hooper who we first met at Pittsburgh's 3 Three Rivers Arts Festival a few years back.

Painter Tim Hooper who we first met at Pittsburgh's 3 Three Rivers Arts Festival a few years back.

 

Painter Michael Pomerantz of Lakewood, OH.

Painter Michael Pomerantz of Lakewood, OH.

    I first met Michael at Pittsburgh’s A Fair in the Park several years ago and at that time he was living in Kent, OH. We discussed the possibility of Michael having a show at West Liberty University during the 2010-2011 exhibition season.

 

Artist Bryan Cunningham

Artist Bryan Cunningham of Michigan.

 

Florida artist John Whipple.

Florida artist John Whipple.

 

Assemblage guru (and painter) Lynn Whipple.

Assemblage guru (and painter) Lynn Whipple.

    Chris and I first met John and Lynn Whipple at the Winter Park Arts Festal about ten years ago, and had last seen them at Atlanta a year or so later. It is hard to pick up a contemporary art publication that does not contain the work of work of either of these talented artists. Chris and I own a couple pieces of Lynn’s assemblages, so it was great to do some trading and take home a piece of John’s work.

 

Lynn and John Whipple with my "Bunny with Bling".

Lynn and John Whipple with my "Bunny with Bling".

    The St. Louis Arts Fair proved to be a well run, highly professional event with exceptionally talented artists. The work in this festival is some of the best I have ever seen at an outdoor art event. It was great to be a part of it!

3 Responses to “St. Louis Art Fair”


  1. 2 Charles Adams
    October 17, 2013 at 5:38 pm

    I saw this piece at the Lancaster PA art shows called “ode to a barber chair” by Gary Seidel. I am extremely interested in purchasing it. Please let me know if this is possible.

    Charles Adams
    Licensed Barber Teacher
    Owner of Premier Barber Institute and Charles’ Hair Studio

    Sent from my iPhone

    • 3 Charles Adams
      October 17, 2013 at 6:04 pm

      I saw this piece at the Lancaster PA art shows called “ode to a barber chair” by Gary Seidel. I am extremely interested in purchasing it. Please let me know if this is possible.

      Charles Adams
      Licensed Barber Teacher
      Owner of Premier Barber Institute and Charles’ Hair Studio

      Sent from my iPhone


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 649 other followers

