15
Aug
08

Bluesfest 2008

    It is amazing where one piece of your artwork takes you. Bluesman, the piece shown above, was part of my exhibition with ceramist Herb Weaver this past spring. The exhibition, called Found and Faux, was held at the Stifel Fine Arts Center in Wheeling, WV. Bruce Wheeler and his wife, Phyllis Sigal, attended the exhibition. Bruce and Phyllis put on the Heritage Blues Festival at Wheeling’s Heritage Port each August. Bruce asked what inspired Bluesman, as well as another piece in the exhibition, Bluesgirl (now owned by artist Cece Rose). I expained that I listen to music in the studio while I work, and a big portion of what I listen to is Blues. A few months later Phyllis contacted me to discuss using the piece for this years Bluesfest t-shirt. I was honored…. and pumped!

    Now my wife Chris and I have never attended Bluesfest. Each year we join her family for a week on Lake Erie at the same time Bluesfest is held. This year, however, we decided we would head back to Wheeling a few days early to attend Bluesfest. (As fate would have it, my father-in-law had some health issues a few days before we were to leave for Lake Erie, and our trip was cancelled.) We attended all three days of Bluesfest and had a great time! My son Jeremy joined us on Friday evening, while my son Shawn and his girlfriend Renai came on Saturday. The music, the people, the weather…. it was all good! The crowd was upbeat, yet well behaved and into the music. A real positive experience! Bruce and Phyllis have done a fantastic job to create a wonderful music event! Here are a just a few photos:



    And now I am inspired to get back into the studio and create some new blues-based artwork based on my experiences at Bluesfest. I just realized that I don’t have an image of the t-shirt! Got to take care of that!

4 Responses to “Bluesfest 2008”


  1. 1 Nancy
    August 15, 2008 at 5:41 pm

    This is great Bob. I enjoyed the photos and all you wrote. Keep it going !!

  2. 2 angela m.
    August 19, 2008 at 2:01 am

    Bluesman is fantastic! I hope you do create more art based on the blues.

  3. August 19, 2008 at 5:53 pm

    Love the photos! Here’s a link to Daily Paintworks: http://www.dailypaintworks.com/

  4. August 28, 2008 at 6:36 pm

    What a great design for a Blues t-shirt.
    I have been looking at your website and really loving your work as always.


Leave a Reply

