12
Sep
08

Showtime!

    

    I haven’t kept up with this blog like I planned. Good grief, it’s been almost a month since my last entry. During that time school has started, and my visits to the studio have been rare these past couple of weeks. It was a productive summer, however, as I created a group of new work a for solo show, and that show opens tonight. Here’s the press release:

   Wheeling artist Robert Villamagna will present his newest body of assemblage and mixed-media work at Gallery on 43rd Street in the Lawrenceville section of Pittsburgh, September 12 through October 31, 2008.  This exhibition, titled Estano Luchador (Tin Wrestler), will consist of new work based on a variety of subject matter from Mexican wrestling masks to vampire bunnies.
    And what are those materials that Villamagna uses?  “Deconstructed tin containers, broken toys, old photographs, baby doll parts….  If it holds still long enough for me to nail down or glue down, I am probably going to use it,” says Villamagna.  In Estano Luchador, Villamagna uses a lot of printed or decorated metal. “I deconstruct metal product containers such as old coffee and food cans, flatten them out and create a palette using the various colors and textures.”  His first piece Villamagna made from tin cans was in the Associated Artists exhibition at the Carnegie a few years ago.  “It was a huge bra, and it now it hangs in our living room,” says Villamagna.
    One of Villamagna’s metal pieces, Bluesman, was featured on the front of this year’s BluesFest (Wheeling’s 3-day blues festival on the waterfront) t-shirt. “That was such a thrill to be associated with this wonderful event and so much fun seeing a piece of my work on the front of all these t-shirts,” says Villamagna.
    Villamagna, whose home and studio are in Wheeling, WV, has been working in assemblage (an artistic process in which three-dimensional compositions are created using found objects) and mixed-media for over 20 years.  “I spent most of my young life drawing, then moved towards watercolor and acrylics in my late 20s and 30s. While I still enjoy the process of painting, assemblage is my first love art-wise.  I especially like materials that show use, wear, rust.  When I am placing these things in my work I cannot help but think about the people who made them or used them.”
     Villamagna is assistant professor of art at West Liberty State College, and w director of West Liberty’s Nutting Gallery.
    The opening reception for the exhibition, Estano Luchador will be 7 to 10 pm, September 12, 2008 at Gallery on 43rd Street, 187 43rd St. in Lawrenceville.  For more information please call Mary Coleman at 412-683-6488.

    So there you have it. Chris and I dropped off the work to the gallery last week, leaving it in the capable hands of gallery owner Mary Coleman. At this point, there is not much left to do but show up…. ha, ha! (Nervous laughter.) 

2 Responses to “Showtime!”


  1. 1 angela m.
    October 9, 2008 at 2:22 am

    Congratulations Bob! I hope many people find that they must own some fabulous Bob Art!

  2. 2 padg
    October 24, 2008 at 4:18 pm

    Are you the Artist that hails from Oakland, CA?


Leave a Reply

