28
Mar
09

How to Build a Chicken

 

    After devoting the first half of the day to house chores, I got into the studio in the afternoon. I decided to work on something small in scale with the idea of possibly finishing the piece before going out in the evening. A few years ago I created an assemblage titled “High Speed Chicken”. I have been thinking of that piece lately , as well as the chickens on the small farm in north east Ohio owned by friends of ours, Kate and Keith McMahon. The McMahons are also artists and they just recently built a new studio. I am only a wee bit jealous.

    So my plan is to make a large chicken, about 40″x36″, using deconstructed tin cans on MDF. But this day I would just make a small work and just do a chicken head. I took several photos to show how the piece came together. I begin with the support (MDF in this case) and a sketch. I do not predetermine which metals I will select. That happens piece by piece as I build.

Sketch on the support

Sketch on the support

 

I have cut out a few of the shapes that will form the head.

I have cut out a few of the shapes that will form the head.

 

More shapes to form the head.

More shapes to form the head.

 

I cut up part of an old sign advertising a device used hatch chicks.

I cut up part of an old sign advertising a device used hatch chicks.I begin to address the negative space.

Getting close to completion.

Getting close to completion.

Using an old frame from a biscuit tin, I wrap it up! Title: "The Chicken and the Quaker"

Using an old frame from a biscuit tin, I wrap it up! Title: "The Chicken and the Quaker"

And there you have it: how to build a chicken! If you would like to see a better photo of the finished piece. please visit my website: www.robertvillamagna.com   Now that spring is upon us, I can begin searching the flea markets for tin cans!

0 Responses to “How to Build a Chicken”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

