15
Apr
09

Starting a New Piece

    Today I started work on a new piece. It is going to be done in deconstructed product cans and other printed metal. The basic idea is a bird resting among an interweaving vine. I started with a piece of MDF measuring approximately 24″x28″. I sketched out a rough version of the bird and vines directly on the panel using a Sharpie. The photos below show the first four hours work.

The cut metal leaves on the basic sketch.

The cut metal leaves on the basic sketch.

 

The bird is roughed in.

The bird is roughed in.

 

I begin adding the white pieces that will make up the negative space.

I begin adding the white pieces that will make up the negative space.

 

This is where I must quit for the day.

This is where I must quit for the day.

    I am anxious to continue, but will be unable to continue working on this piece until the weekend. That shape in the upper right corner will be the wing.

2 Responses to “Starting a New Piece”


  1. 1 NT
    April 15, 2009 at 10:03 pm

    Hey Bob….I noticed all those snipers and cutters and what looks like all kinds of chopping tools. Where are the band-aids??? 2 ft by 2 ft plus is a big area…lots of cutting. Looks good. I see a red crow.

  2. 2 liz neumann
    April 28, 2009 at 10:56 pm

    It is always exciting to see how a work begins and ends. Thanks, Liz


Leave a Reply

