20
May
09

Flea Market Addiction

 

Even without the stop sign, how could you not stop at this fine arrangement of quality stuff!   

Even without the stop sign, how could you not stop at this fine arrangement of quality stuff!

 

This is one of my favorite signs at a flea market.

This is one of my favorite signs at a flea market.

 

    If you are one of the half dozen people that actually read this blog, then you know at least two things about me: one, I am an artist who uses “junk” with which to make art; and two, I am addicted to flea markets. Of course, as I have said quite often, the flea market is my palette! I have a few favorite flea markets, and the Friday sale at Rogers, Ohio is one of those. Last Friday I made another visit to Rogers under a sun filled sky. Temperatures started out in the mid-forties, but were in the mid-sixties by noon. A great day to walk the Rogers Sale!

 

Bargain hunters in mass at Rogers!

Bargain hunters in mass at Rogers!

 

A bit of dealing on the price of a milk bottle.

A bit of dealing on the price of a milk bottle.

 

Kim Young! Eat your heart out!

Kim Young! Eat your heart out!

    Our friend Kim Young, a talented jeweler, sculptor, and multi-media artists in Richmond, VA, loves owls! Her owl obsession began about 2 years ago when she was at A Fair in the Park in Pittsburgh. It seems that Kim returned to her van at the end of the day and found it covered with dozens of magnetic owls. Although no one seems to know who stuck the assortment of owls to her vehicle, she has been collecting them ever since. I only wish I could have purchased the monster pictured above and shipped it to her. However, my cart was full about the time I saw this fellow.

 

Rogers is full of spring flower vendors.

Rogers is full of spring flower vendors.

 

This was cute, and it was hard to walk away.... but not without first taking a photo!

This was cute, and it was hard to walk away.... but not without first taking a photo!

 

More tables of stuff to look over.

More tables of stuff to look over.

A few of my purchases for the day.

A few of my purchases for the day.

    The picture above shows a few items I picked up this day: a 1950’s trash can, beer sign, and metal toy barn (all of these will go under the knife), a spool of wire (an assemblage artist never has enough wire), some weird photo postcards, and a group of old mesh apple bags with colorful labels. Not shown are some more photos, and a selection of old illustrated childrens books. Time to make more ART!

3 Responses to “Flea Market Addiction”


  1. 1 kim notreallyanowlcollector young
    May 20, 2009 at 3:09 pm

    Gold. Pure gold. And yes, that is a mighty fine owl. But I want everyone out there in blogland to know—I do collect owls. Do me a favor when you see our wise winged friends— buy them and send them to me for my flower beds, porches, decks, cabinets, bathrooms, purses, offices, bikes, hats and refrigerators……………..

  2. 2 kim notreallyanowlcollector young
    May 21, 2009 at 1:20 pm

    arrrrrrrrgh!!!!!

  3. July 1, 2009 at 5:03 pm

    I’m so envious, we don’t have flea markets here in Seattle, and the one(s) you go to look like a treasure chest of fodder.


Leave a Reply

