28
May
09

The Making of Bluesman II.

    In early summer of 2008, Bruce Wheeler and Phyllis Sigal approached me about using a piece of my work, Bluesman, to print on t-shirts for the Heritage Music Bluesfest. I was honored that Bruce and Phyllis liked the piece that much, and it was fun to see hundreds of blues fans wearing Bluesman on their chests. 

    This past January I emailed Bruce about my making a new image that might work for 2009 Bluesfest. I started Bluesman II. two weeks ago and kept a visual diary of the progress. Here it is:

 

Here is Bluesman II. sketched in Sharpie on MDF.

Here is Bluesman II. sketched in Sharpie on MDF, 40"x 36".

 

After roughing in Bluesman, I began cutting and placing tin for the couch.

After roughing in Bluesman, I began cutting and placing tin for the couch.

 

At this point I have started working on the trousers and the floor.

At this point I have started working on the trousers and the floor.

 

The trousers, shoes, floor and couch shadow are about done.

The trousers, shoes, floor and couch shadow are about done.

 

At this point I have closed in most of the negative space behind the Bluesman, and have formed most of the guitar.

At this point I have closed in most of the negative space behind the Bluesman, and have formed most of the guitar.

 

The guitar is more developed here, and I have begun working on the shirt (yellow) as well as the left arm and neck.

The guitar is more developed here, and I have begun working on the shirt (yellow) as well as the left arm and neck.

    If you would like to see the final result after 50 hours of work, visit my website by clicking HERE. The website will open with a cropped version of Bluesman II. To see the entire piece, visit the PORFOLIO page, then click METAL WORKS. (Please note that this image is only a proposal for the Bluesfest 2009 t-shirt, and is not confirmed.) Thanks for your interest!

2 Responses to “The Making of Bluesman II.”


  1. 1 randy
    May 30, 2009 at 4:52 am

    i read your blog. am i really one of 6. wow, my self esteem just rose a few points. love the new work ( blues mand and red bird and vines)
    randhy

  2. July 1, 2009 at 5:00 pm

    I loved seeing your process because it’s so different than how I go about mine, although I don’t work as big as you do.


Leave a Reply

