28
Jul
09

Another Day at Rogers!

 

Rogers Flea Market has a slow start after an early morning rain.

Rogers Flea Market has a slow start after an early morning rain.

   Yeah, it’s back to Rogers! I skipped Rogers the previous Friday due to rain, and actually it looked like I might have to stay home again this past week. I checked the weather patterns on the internet and found that Rogers would have early morning rain, but then chances of rain would be zero from about 6 AM till about 3 PM. After that more  rain showers were to move into the area. I figured that gave me plenty of time to scout around for tin and fun junk.

 

As the sun came out the crowd size increased quickly.

As the sun came out the crowd size increased quickly.

    Besides the shear joy of the search for art materials, you meet some interesting people at Rogers. This day I met Vince when I stopped by his hot dog wagon to purchase a can of soda. “The pop is cold, not ice cold,” says Vince as he pulls a can out of a cooler stuffed full of ice. “It’s iced cold! Just like it says on my sign.” I loved the look of his wagon with all the hand-written signs, and I asked if I could take a few photos. “These are the best!”, exclaims Vince as he pulls some jumbo dogs out of the steamer, “Come on back later when you are hungry.” Vince is so proud of his product that I did not have the heart to tell him I was a vegetarian.

 

Vince and his hot dog wagon at Rogers Flea Market.

Vince and his hot dog wagon at Rogers Flea Market.

   Another gentleman I met this week was Michael Markley, who plays the violin. It’s neat to walk through the flea market and you start to hear music…. and it’s live! Michael plays gospel music and it really adds a nice backdrop to the usual rumblings at Rogers. Michael keeps his violin case open for tips and holding his CDs. He and his wife, Gerda, travel to flea markets all over the midwest and south selling CDs and as he puts it, “planting seeds”.

 

Michael Markley plays his violin.

Michael Markley plays his violin.

 

 

"No pets" reads this sign at the entrance to the flea market.....

"No pets" reads this sign at the entrance to the flea market.....

 

....but I think this little guy is just plain ignoring it.

....but I think this little guy is just plain ignoring it.

 

You never know what you'll see for sale at Rogers!

You never know what you'll see for sale at Rogers!

 

And here was an opportunity for someone to really clean up, even in this current economic downturn.

And here was an opportunity for someone to really clean up, even in this current economic downturn.

    No doll houses this trip. Funny how those things seem to come in bunches or not at all. I did find a few cans, plus a boot sign, a black David (which is being painted white), and a suitcase of old postage stamps. Oh…. and a CD: Gospel Violin, Vol. 1, by Michael Markley. Somehow I figure that CD, along with Regina Spektor and Gogol Bordello makes for great studio music.

 

A few of the days finds.

A few of the days finds.

0 Responses to “Another Day at Rogers!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

