13
Oct
09

Making The Big One

    I was recently commissioned to create a fish. This fish is to be a gift for a writer named  David Kinney who recently wrote a book titled The Big One.  I took a series of images that show how the fish came to be. I hope you enjoy seeing the process.

I began with a few thumbnail sketches of fish, and then cut an oval base out of MDF.

I began with a few thumbnail sketches of fish, and then cut a 20" oval out of MDF.

Using one of my thumbnails as a guide, I roughed in the fish on the board.

Using one of my thumbnails as a guide, I roughed in the fish on the board using a Sharpie.

 

I decided that the fish would itself would be make up of a primarily blue palette.

I decided that the fish would itself would be make up of a primarily blue palette.

I keep pulling metal from my "blue bin" and keeping what I think is working.

I keep pulling metal from my "blue bin" and keeping what I think is working. At this point I am only driving the nails in part way in case I need to make some changes in color, shape, or value.

 

I tried several background choices: orange, red, simulated wood prints. I finally settled on white which seemed to show off the fish the best. Here you can see I am starting to lay in the white metal.

I tried several background choices: orange, red, simulated wood prints. I finally settled on white which seemed to show off the fish the best. Here you can see I am starting to lay in the white metal.

At this point I have a little better than half of the negative space filled in with white.

At this point I have a little better than half of the negative space filled in with white.

The white background is complete and I am finishing the nailing of the fish itself. The "tag" just below the fish is for the title.

The white background is complete and I am finishing the nailing of the fish itself. The "tag" just below the fish is for the title.

I have finished the nailing, including the title, and am now ready to paint the exposed edges of the MDF.

I have finished the nailing, including the title, and am now ready to paint the exposed edges of the MDF.

And here is the completed "Big One". Now I keep my fingers crossed that both Rick, who contracted with me to do the piece, and the David, who is receiving it as a gift, will like it.

And here is the completed "Big One". Now I keep my fingers crossed that both Rick, who contracted with me to do the piece, and David, who is receiving it as a gift, will like it.

1 Response to “Making The Big One”


  1. 1 Cheryl
    October 15, 2009 at 3:24 pm

    Well, I like it! Liked watching you make it too.


Leave a Reply

