15
Jul
10

Central Pennsylvania Festival of the Arts

I’ve really dropped the ball on the blog recently. It has been three weeks since I have made an entry, so let me bring things up to date. After the College Board AP reading in Cincinnati last month, I started preparing for the Central PA Festival of the Arts in State College. Chris and I started doing this art festival in 1996, and we really look forward to it each and every year. Here are some pictures I took at this years event:

My booth, B-8, located on Burrowes Street.

Another view of my booth at this year's festival.

Fiber artist Susan Levi-Goerlich has been one of our neighbors at CPFA for the past several years.

Mitch Lyons, the Godfather of the clay monotype is also in our neighborhood.

Photographer Jim Spillane is a regular at the CPFA.

Chris relaxing across from our booth.

Since losing a few trees on Burrowes the past couple years, big umbrellas come in handy for some much needed shade!

Dana Marsh in the booth!

Dana Marsh is the social networking guru for the CPFA and is the person responsible for getting on Facebook this spring. Yes, I used to be glowing with the coolness of NOT being on Facebook, but now I am just another lemming! HA!

A Penn State student shooting some news video of my work.

Sometimes it rains during the arts fest, and Susan is prepared!

They were all out of big umbrellas, so this had to do.

In her booth, the jeweler and mixed media artist, the amazing KIMSTER! aka Kim Young!

Kim had a good show, but her mighty van broke down and she was forced to spend a few extra days in State College until repairs could be completed.

Jeff Unzicker, and his brother, Tom, make some kick butt pots!

Some more of the great Unzicker work!

Chris and I brought home a couple cups from the Unzicker brothers, but I would have loved one of the big pieces! Jeff and I discussed a possible exhibition at West Liberty in the future.

Work by Virginia artist Joan Gardner.

One of our "new" neighbors on Burrowes, ceramic artist Peter Saenger.

Ready to head home: Loretta Fehling, Robert Villamagna, Susan Levi-Goerlich, and Chris Villamagna.

My sales at CPFA were at an all time low, and I ended the weekend deep in the red. On the other hand, it was a beautiful summer weekend, filled with great artist friends, my work was on the festival t-shirt (Thrill!), and I was invigorated by the great art around me.

0 Responses to “Central Pennsylvania Festival of the Arts”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

