02
Aug
10

A Trader Jack’s Morning

Trader Jack’s Flea Market is one of my favorites for junk hunting. It is located near Bridgeville, PA, south of Pittsburgh and is about a 45 minute drive from Wheeling. I regularly find metal and assemblage stuff here, as well as an occasional tool for the studio or an antique item for the house. On a dry summer or early fall day, Trader Jack’s has several hundred dealers with a variety of merchandise. I have found, however, that the number of vendors does not have a direct correlation to the amount of stuff I find. You just never know. Here are a few photos from last Sunday morning.

View of Trader Jack's from the parking lot.

View as you walk down into the market.

Stopping to check out a doll house.

In the second row I spotted a Marx doll house which I purchased for $15. The various colors of the tin come in handy in my metal works. Since I didn’t have my cart with me, I had to run the house back to the truck.

It is amazing the variety of stuff one sees, and yet each of us is only interested in just a small portion of that "stuff".

It is a cool, sunny morning and Jack's is nearly filled to the max.

I try to take a quick look at all tool tables, just in case there might be a tool that I can use in the studio.

I ran across this metal canister set for a couple bucks, which will be deconstructed and placed in the appropriate color bin in the studio.

Most artist’s working in “tin” will tell you that what takes up a lot of studio time is the ceconstruction, flattening, and storing of the product containers. Two summers ago I purchased one lot of about 150 cans from a guy in western PA. It took me nearly two and a half days to break them all down and put the metal away.

Some interesting stuff at this table, but nothing I could use.

So on this Trader Jack’s morning I ended up with a metal doll house, a canister set, a large cookie tin, an old health book with great illustrations, two 8″x10″ photos of telephone operators in the 1950’s, a pair of long handled needle nose pliers, and a metal 1960’s snack tray. Not a huge load of stuff, but combine it with a nice walk on a sunny morning, and it’s all good.

1 Response to “A Trader Jack’s Morning”



Leave a Reply

