13
Aug
10

Another visit to…. where else? Rogers!

A summer morning at Rogers.

The half dozen of you out there that actually read my ramblings, know that I love flea markets. And you also know that I have done several blog posts on one of my favorite flea markets, Rogers! It had been over a month since I had been up to Rogers, and I got the urge to make the drive early last Friday morning. The weather was warm, but the humidity was finally down. This made for a very comfortable day for scrounging around the flea market.

Tons of stuff to look through!

The ideal weather conditions really brought out both the dealers and the lookers/ buyers. There seemed to be an especially wide range of merchandise.

Dollhouse in a great color of blue!

I purchased the doll house shown above. It is the first one I have found in this shade of blue! Little did I realize that this would end up being a “blue day”, as several items I bought were blue.

Olive oil can in.... BLUE!

The line at Paisano's Pizza.... at 10:30 AM!

Paisano's white pizza..... breakfast of champions!

After some nourishment it is time to get back to the hunt. I stumbled upon this old Westinghouse roaster which immediately brought back memories! My mother had one when I was growing up and I remember it was mostly used for holiday meals: Easter, Thanksgiving, and Christmas. Just looking at that vintage roaster seemed to bring back all those wonderful aromas from my Mom’s kitchen.

Westinghouse roaster, just like my Mom's..... but I did not buy it!

Uncle Sam

The Uncle Sam figure was cool, and looked very much like it might have spent time in front of a cigar store. Someone re-painted his face and gave him a bit of an Asian look. Weird.

A few more cans.....

And here is another example of why it was a "blue Friday". kThe Coke cooler sold at a reasonable $350. (But not to me.)

I'm not into glass, but I did see what I thought were some interesting pieces.

SSo wraps up another day at Rogers. I drove home with some fresh tin in the form of cans and a doll house, two broken tin toy monkeys, two old photo albums, and a cast iron book press which I will use for collage work. Now it’s time to make some art!

2 Responses to “Another visit to…. where else? Rogers!”


  1. August 14, 2010 at 7:21 am

    OOOOOOOooooooooh, Rogers looks like lots of fun. Nice to make some good scores, huh? Better than Highway 127 I think maybe.

  2. August 18, 2010 at 11:01 pm

    Hi Robert! Great to see your work and pix of you as well – you’re obviously doing fantastic. Beautiful tin work! Keep it up buddy, and I hope we cross paths again soon.

    Cheers,

    Keith

    PS: I knew I liked ya from the hairdo.


Leave a Reply

