05
Oct
10

Oglebayfest Artist Market 2010

Saturday at the Oglebayfest Artist Market

This is the third year in a row that I have exhibited at the Oglebayfest Artist Market at Oglebay Park. For my wife, Chris, and I, the best part of this festival is that it is located right here in Wheeling, WV and only a mile and half from our house. Our friend Kyle Hallam, ceramic artist supreme, comes from his home in  Greene County, PA to do the Artist Market and stays with us over the weekend. This year, another friend, fiber artist Susan Levi-Goerlich of Columbia, MD, gave Oglebayfest a try and she, too, stayed with us. Having our artist friends in our home made for an extra special weekend!

Susan Levi-Goerlich in her booth on "artist row", awaiting the early Friday crowds. Some of Kyle's work can be seen in the foreground.

Susan is our neighbor at the Cenrtral PA Festival of the Arts each summer, and so it was a new adventure to have her in our own back yard! You can check out Susan’s wonderful work at her website.

Some of Susan's work she was exhibiting at her Oglebayfest booth.

Friday and Saturday were traditionally fall-like: crisp, cool air mixed with mostly sunny skies. We were constantly being pelted by acorns from the oak trees which hovered over our heads. At times it sounded like machine guns as the nuts hit the tent roof in rapid fire!

The amazing Kyle!

That’s Kyle above, taking a break during Friday morning set-up to ham it up for my camera. Kyle is a very talented ceramic artist whose working palette is like no other I have seen in the ceramic arts. In addition, his sense of humor is unsurpassed as this photo gives evidence.

Kyle and I with our recently purchased mugs.

It has become a tradition of sorts that early on Friday, Kyle and I each purchase a mug from one of the exhibiting clay artists of Oglebayfest. These utilitarian works of art will go on to hold an adult beverage or two over the weekend.

We toast with our new mugs!

This is the second year in which I held my Studio Clean-Out Sale on a wall of my booth. This is work that was experimental in nature, left over from previous exhibitions, or for some unknown reason just never connected with anyone. Rather than just have it take up studio space, I mark it down and let it find new homes. My “sales wall” was pretty much cleaned out my Friday afternoon.

My booth at Oglebayfest Artist Market.

Maw's County Fixens at Oglebayfest.

Unfortunately, meatless options at Oglebayfest are pretty slim, so Chris and I have to bring our own food for the most part. However, it is a tradition that we have some hot fried potatoes from Maw’s Country Fixens! Oh yeah! We get’em before the line gets too long! (see below) It’s fun to watch “Pa” dice the potatoes using his own invention: a giant potato dicer that runs on a cordless electric drill!

The line at Maw's Country Fixens wagon.

Now if only the line for my art was long as the one at Maw’s! Maybe if I hang peppers and onions in my booth. Hmmmmm.

Kicking back with some of Maw's hot potatoes!

Scarecrow sales are brisk at Oglebayfest!

Me along with Marc and Cheryl Harshman in Cecy Rose's booth.

Exhibiting artists Patricia and Andrew Croft.

Susan models wood carvings by Andrew Crofts father and yes, both the football and the cap are WOOD!

Chris along with Melissa Marshall and Anna Mancuso.

Making a new friend at Oglebayfest! Me and Jabba the hut.

This t-shirt cracked me up!

West Virginia Governor Joe Manchin ALMOST visits my booth. (That him in the blue shirt.)

Even though Governor Manchin did not visit my booth, and even if it we did have a cold, rainy Sunday, and even if I was fighting a bug attacking my upper respiratory system, Chris and I had a wonderful weekend! A good time filled with friends, family, some art sales, art trades, and some art buying. And thanks, Susan, for encouraging me to get the blog going again!

Lambros Tsuhlares, aka Clay Ninja at his Artist Market booth.

Potteryhead Mel, one of Lambros' humble grasshoppers.

0 Responses to “Oglebayfest Artist Market 2010”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

