20
Sep
12

Another visit to Bull Creek

If you know me, or have at least visited this blog before, you know that I am all about flea markets. There is the stuff, the people, the element of surprise, and of course there is that creative spark that I also get from the flea market. And since I use found objects and lithographed metal in my art, the flea market also becomes my palette!

One of my favorite markets is the Bull Creek Flea-tique near Tarentum, PA. This monthly flea market is located on a grass and tree-covered stretch of land that was once the site of a working coal mine. I love the fact that there is no asphalt on the grounds, and just a gravel road that winds it’s way back to this outdoor market.

On my most recent trip I picked up a doll house, a 50 pound red lard can, one end wall of a Coca-Cola cooler, and a flattened out piece of tin that was once a Prestone anti-freeze can. Those items are now in the studio waiting to play a role in an upcoming piece of Villamagna art. I also picked up a great old litho of the Battleship Maine. A great wall piece, even if the frame is a bit rough. Here is a slide show from my visit there last Sunday morning:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

0 Responses to “Another visit to Bull Creek”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

