20
Apr
13

Have an American Picker Experience

I’m often asked if I watch the television program, American PIckers. I have seen a few episodes and I really don’t care for show. Here are these two antique dealers who drive around the country looking for treasures in old barns and out buildings. They have an uncanny ability to turn the property owner’s brain to mush, enabling the “pickers” to fill their van with antique goodies at a fraction of their true value.

Wait….did I say FILL their van? Ha! Here is why I think the show is pure BS. These guys only buy three items at time! That’s right, there could be a barn packed with goodies from top to bottom, but they buy an enamel oil sign, a cement cat sculpture, and a rusted engine from an Indian motorcycle ……..and then they LEAVE! Look, REAL pickers would not leave until (A), they ran out of cash; or (B), the van was so full that nothing else could possibly be shoved into it.

Last month, Chris and I were visiting family in Arizona. Outside of Phoenix, along with our friend Dan, we stopped at a roadside antique shop  with several pieces of furniture lined up along the highway. As we pulled in front we saw a hand-painted sign that read “Have an American Pickers Experience”. The shop was jam-packed, as were the half-dozen or so out buildings on the property. We had a fun time looking around and I did purchase a few items to use in artwork. The owners were were very friendly and we had a fun visit. I’ll the photos tell the rest of the story!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

1 Response to “Have an American Picker Experience”


  1. 1 Dana Charlton
    April 21, 2013 at 12:49 pm

    What a wonderful blog! May I please ask if you are the same artist who made such delightful contributions to Old Bottle Magazine back in the 70s and 80s? I’ll leave my email address for you…. Thank you, Bob!


Leave a Reply

