15
Dec
13

Remembering the Padge

West Liberty University held it’s fall 2013 commencement ceremony yesterday, and as I sat in the auditorium, I could not help but reflect on my friend and colleague, Robert “Paul” Padgett. As many of you know, Paul, aka “the Padge”, passed away this past October. As the year comes to a close I want to share with you the Padge I knew through a short album of photos.

The Padge

The Padge

Padge in Dumbo. He loved NYC, and we made fifteen trips there with WLU students.

Padge in Dumbo. He loved NYC, and we made fifteen trips there with WLU students. Also in this photo are WLU Professors James Haizlett and Lambros Tsuhlares.

020_20A

Padge and I in front of the the Washing Square Hotel, NYC. I had just found a sign and a stretched canvas in the trash. Padge would encourage my obsession of picking up other peoples discards, and then would joke with me about it later. “What’s Chris going to say when you bring that home?” he would always ask.

Padge on the subway, always an observer of life.

Padge on the subway, always an observer of life.

Padgett coffee 755

Our trips to NYC always began with Padge having his morning coffee. I took this with a Polaroid as we were pulling out of McDonalds.

This was the second WLU Art Faculty Exhibition that I was a part of. I was always by Padge's creativity and sense of design. Padge created the floor installation which he titled "Nesting Penquins".

This was the second WLU Art Faculty Exhibition that I was a part of. I was always amazed by Padge’s creativity and sense of design. Padge created the floor installation which he titled “Nesting Penguins”. This is several years before the gallery was renovated.

A closer look at "Nesting Penguins". Padge and I pulled the band hats out of the dumpster behind the Hall of Fine Arts. Those are eggs on the top of each hat.

A closer look at “Nesting Penguins”. Padge and I pulled the band hats out of the dumpster behind the Hall of Fine Arts. Those are eggs on the top of each hat.

I probably had few dozen exhibition openings of my own work during the time I knew Padge, and I believe he attended every one. Here we are at my opening of "I've Seen You Naked" at Penn Gallery in Pittsburgh, along with artist and friend Howard Lieberman.

I probably had few dozen exhibition openings of my own work during the time I knew Padge, and I believe he attended every one. Here we are at my opening of “I’ve Seen You Naked” at Penn Gallery in Pittsburgh, along with artist and friend Howard Lieberman.

Padge and Lambros, in front of a NYC Restaurant called "Ginger", which happens to be Lambros' favorite root!

Padge and Lambros, in front of a NYC Restaurant called “Ginger”, which happens to be Lambros’ favorite root!

Padge was always ready for a photo op that contained wording that somehow connected to one or all of us.

Padge was always ready for a photo op that contained wording that somehow connected to one or all of us.

Padge, in a NYC gallery. wearing a Hershey rain poncho I loaned him.

Padge, in a NYC gallery. wearing a Hershey rain poncho I loaned him.

Paul, Janice Barnett, Chris, and I camping at Seneca Rocks, WV.

Paul, Janice Barnett, Chris, and I camping at Seneca Rocks, WV.

My wife, Chris, took this photo of Padge and I discussing the art world as we enjoy a hot tub near Hocking Hills, Ohio.

My wife, Chris, took this photo of Padge and I discussing the art world as we enjoy a hot tub near Hocking Hills, Ohio.

I took this photo of Padge in front of the George Washington Arch in Washington Square Park, NYC.

I took this photo of Padge in front of the George Washington Arch in Washington Square Park, NYC.

Me and the Padge at my birthday party at Later Alligator in Wheeling.

Me and the Padge at my birthday party at Later Alligator in Wheeling.

We were at Powerhouse Arena, a great bookstore in Dumbo, when Padge saw a poster advertising a book by one of his design heroes.

We were at Powerhouse Arena, a great bookstore in Dumbo, when Padge saw a poster advertising a book by one of his design heroes.

Image 3

Taking a break at a Chelsea gallery. This was our last NYC trip with the Padge.

Paul and I in front of a light installation somewhere in Chelsea.

Paul and I in front of a light installation somewhere in Chelsea.

Padge checking out the design books at our favorite bookstore, the Strand, in NYC. This is my favorite photo I ever took of my friend.

Padge checking out the design books at our favorite bookstore, the Strand, in NYC. This is my favorite photo I ever took of my friend.

 

 

 

 

1 Response to “Remembering the Padge”


  1. 1 Janice Barnett
    December 17, 2013 at 12:14 am

    Bob, This is a beautiful tribute to Paul! He would be so proud! You captured him at his happiest times…you were such a wonderful friend! Paul truly loved you!


Leave a Reply

